Home » State Divisions » Queensland » History

History

On 12th November 1946, forty-five interested people, mostly from the jewellery trade, met in Brisbane to hold the inaugural meeting of what was to become the Queensland Branch of the GAA.

The first Preliminary Course in Gemmology attracted fifty-three students, some being returned service personnel funded by the Commonwealth’s Post-War Reconstruction Scheme.

Meetings were held at various venues until in 1964 a specially formed Funds and Land Committee reported to Council and finally settled on a property at 20 Rosslyn Street, East Brisbane. In 1999, this property ‘Wahroongai’ was sold and new premises were purchased in Windsor. Today ‘Gemmology House’ is the home of the GAA (Qld) Division.

In addition to teaching the two-year Diploma Course in Gemmology, the branch began a series of lectures open to the general public. These "Popular Gemmology" lectures found favour with the public with sixty students attending the first series of lectures. These lectures remained popular and were only discontinued in the early 1970s.

The (now) Division continues to impart gemmological knowledge to people from all walks of life and through the bi-monthly newsletter, Gemmology Qld, keeps members abreast of current events in the gem and jewellery industries.